31
Dec
09

Reading Neil Gaiman’s “Sandman” is not considered “Reading Comics”

With all due respect to Neil Gaiman. I thought that Sandman was an excellent series. It’s a comic that’s not really a comic. It’s a whole new mythology. It was something new at that time. Sandman brought a lot of non-comic readers in the industry but they limited themselves to that.

I have spoken to a lot of people. When girls tell me they’ve read comics, they tell me they’ve read Sandman.

It’s getting old really. It’s more of the “Um, ok, good for you”

I’m the type to read all sorts of comic books. I love the mainstream ones and I also love the independent ones and creator owned. Not all comic books are the ones with capes and saving the day. A lot of comic books have excellent storylines, character development, and over the top dialogue. It’s insane.

Why am I saying this? I guess it’s like asking someone today if he/she has read books and you get a Harry Potter/ Twilight Saga answer.

So many people have read Sandman to the point that it’s not a comic book anymore. It became such a stereotypical answer.

I would love to meet someone who has read Cerebus, Ex-Machina, Concrete, Powers, or Daredevil. That would be such a big surprise for me.

People, please don’t limit yourselves to Sandman. You can read it all you want but go read other books too. Please don’t get me wrong, I love the Endless Family too. I have Absolute Editions of Sandman. What I’m trying to say is that Sandman does not equal to Comics! πŸ™‚ That’s it!

What do I recommend you read?

Lots!

Google the following and see what you like.

I’ll go by my favorite writers.

Brian Michael Bendis

Ultimate Spider-Man, Daredevil, Powers, New Avengers

Mark Millar

The Ultimates, Wolverine: Old Man Logan, Civil War, Chosen, Kick-ASS

Ed Brubaker

Captain America, Sleeper, Criminal, The Immortal Iron Fist

Matt Fraction

The Invincible Iron Man, The Immortal Iron Fist, Casanova

Brian K. Vaughan

Y: The Last Man, Pride of Baghdad, Ex-Machina, Runaways, The Escapists

Robert Kirkman

The Walking Dead, Invincible, The Astounding Wolf-man

The Luna Brothers

Girls, Ultra, The Sword

Gerry Alanguilan

Elmer, Where Bold Stars go to die, Wasted

Budjette Tan

TRESE

Manix Abrera

12, Kiko Machine Komix


4 Responses to “Reading Neil Gaiman’s “Sandman” is not considered “Reading Comics””


  1. 1 Adrian
    December 31, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Concrete is actually one of my all time favorites. I have all of the 7 new trades released by Dark Horse a few years ago.

  2. 2 kit
    December 31, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    No mention of Geoff Johns?

  3. January 2, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    Nice! My Brother keep on insisting me to buy Sandman ( talagang gusto niya yun ) instead of buying spiderman 😦 geez, good thing I’ve read your blog. pero the bad news is yung spiderman na ni-recommend mo sakin hindi na available dito. I’ve check fully booked online, though I’m planning to get a copy through amazon.com. tapos I’ll get it shipped nalang dito sa Philippines. have a nice day! πŸ˜€

  4. 4 Rhi
    February 9, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    I’ve only come across one or two people who’ve read the Sandman series D= But then again I haven’t come across too many more people who read comics at all.

    Being an epic Phoenix fangirl, I’d recommend the Dark Phoenix Saga. I haven’t really read much for a while so I can’t think of what else to recommend…


Leave a Reply

CLICK!

Blog Stats

  • 88,396 hits

THWIPTTER

Archives


